DYS recognizes 47 parent leaders

AS part of this year’s Parent Leadership Month celebration, the Department of Community and Cultural Affairs-Division of Youth Services recognized 47 parent leaders for making improvements to their families and the community.

The recognition was held during the 2018 Parent Development Workshop at the multi-purpose center on Friday.

Vivian T. Sablan, DYS administrator, said they sought nominations from public and private schools. Nominees must be actively engaged in community and school events, and are willing supporters and mentors to other parents, she added.

“This [recognition] event is all about getting parents together to highlight their strengths and to bring additional resources to parents so they can continue to be engaged while building on their knowledge,” Sablan said, adding that over 100 parents attended the event which also marked the 14th year that DYS hosted a workshop for parents.

Sablan said DYS activities rely on parents. “This event is organized by parents,” she added.

The Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Systems of Care of the Community Guidance Center and the Northern Marianas Protection and Advocacy System Inc. were the workshop presenters.

Sablan said DYS presents topics on better parenting. “We have a lot of issues so we bring in the resources that will help families, including a family planning strategy. [Maternal and Child Health Bureau personnel] are here to discuss that strategy.”

Lately, she added, “we have been receiving calls about suicide so we have Systems of Care which is one of our critical partners in assisting ‘at-risk’ families.”

The parent leaders recognized on Friday:

Saipan Southern High School – Ramon B. Camacho, Marites Villanueva

Kagman High School – Liza Noisom, Esther Manglona

Hopwood Middle School – Catalina Benedicto, Damianah Arkoh, Minda Castro

Dandan Middle School – Max Leuta, Noime Lifoifoi

Chacha Oceanview Middle School – John Gonzales, Adelaida Manahane

Francisco M. Sablan Middle School – Romana Maratita, Gilbert Cabrera

Oleai Elementary School – Claudine Atalig

Kagman Elementary School – Thelma Cing, Celine R. Route

Garapan Elementary School –Joyce Clave, Joji Pamintuan

William S. Reyes Elementary School – Esterlita Camacho, Felix Camacho

Tinian Elementary School – Venus Adtoon, Evelyn B. Manglona

Tinian St. Joseph School – Peter Kellie Monterola

Tinian Head Start – Carmen San Nicolas, Monika Diaz

Tinian Jr./Sr. High School – Tessa Diaz, Marie Reyes

Rota Head Start – Sheena Mesngon, Rosanna Bautista

Rota Grace Christian Academy – Viola Atalig, Connie Taisacan

Rita H. Inos Jr./Sr. High School – Maria Apatang, Tonica Barcinas

Eskuelan San Francisco De Borja – Geraldine Matondo, Imelda Marie H. Atalig

Sinapalo Elementary School – Janella B. Charfauros, Anthony D.L.G. Barcinas

Green Meadow School – Jerome Ortiz, Christine M. Unay, Arthur Anda, Rochelle Malonzo

Smart Start Nurturing Center – Joanna Abraham, Mario Salas Jr., Grace Mendiola, Franchesca Tomokane

San Vicente Elementary School – Lee Cabrera, Tanya Pangelinan

Source: Marianas Variety :

About the author

Relative Posts

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.